Virtual Pivot Headset

#SETYOUROFFSET


Virtual Pivot Headset – changing your fork’s offset through virtual pivot point of the headset

Virtual Pivot Headset

With the Virtual Pivot Headset, Reichmann Engineering offers for the first time worldwide the possibility to compensate the offset of the fork and thus to change the trail. The effective offset of the fork can be reduced or increased by 4 mm.

By the way, the Virtual Pivot Headset optimizes the tasks of a conventional headset. The additional clamping of the steerer tube drastically increases the stiffness of the steering area.

Virtual Pivot – Whaaat?

The term Virtual Pivot describes an imaginary pivot point. With our headset, the pivot point is located in front of or behind the steerer tube axis. The resulting offset between steering axis and steerer tube axis creates the change in fork offset.

Who benefits from the use of the Virtual Pivot Headset?

Anyone who is concerned with offset and trail will benefit from the Virtual Pivot Headset. Now it is possible to change the offset of a fork that does not fit perfectly to the frame or to change the offset according to your own preferences.

FORK OFFSET – What exactly is this and what effect does this offset have on the trail and handling?

Each fork has an individual offset. 27.5″ forks have an offset of about 37 to 46 mm, 29er forks about 42 to 51 mm. Depending on personal preferences, head angle and reach of the bike, a fork with a suitable offset should be used.


Functions and interrelationships in detail

The change in offset that can be achieved using the Virtual Pivot headset is +/- 4 mm. The trail increases or decreases proportionally to the offset.

Changing the trail has a strong influence on the steering and handling characteristics of the bike. Bikes with a large trail run very stably straight ahead, but the steering becomes more sluggish and the bike less agile. Bikes with a small trail react more sensitively to steering influences, but appear more nervous at high speeds. As the steering angle becomes flatter, the trail increases sharply, which is why a larger fork offset can be used to counteract this.

All these parameters are highly dependent on the bike used as well as the rider’s preferences. If you like braaaping (which we are) you might prefer a shorter offset and thus higher trail. Additionally, a short offset brings the front wheel closer to the rider. This has the effect of creating more pressure on the front wheel. Transition Bikes has given this theory the name “Speed Balance Geometry”, or “SBG” for short, and has put a lot of work into working out perfectly balanced bikes https://www.transitionbikes.com/SBG.cfm.

The shorter offset brings the front axle further back and under the rider, increasing front wheel traction. Combined with a short stem, this provides more direct steering input and dramatically improves the connection to the action at the front wheel.

Transition Bikes

After Transition Bikes marketed this technology and users realized the benefit of changing the offset, many fork manufacturers jumped on this bandwagon and offered forks with different offsets. However, user confusion and uncertainty remains as many variables affect this steering geometry and the underlying physics are not immediately apparent. Advantages for one user can mean disadvantages for another.

With very flat head angles (<64°), the head angle itself and the resulting large trail become the decisive variable in influencing steering behavior. Leo Kokkonen from Pole Bikes describes the influence of trail for the Pole Stamina as follows:

The head angle of the bike is more of a driving feature of stability when it comes to the Stamina frame. The Stamina already has enough trail at high speeds but this changes at slower speeds. As the Stamina has a 63.5° head angle the offset of the forks is fine-tuning. The increasing trail gives more stability on slow speeds because a longer offset reduces wheel flop. Therefore the longer offset is more stable overall.

Leo Kokkonen, CEO and developer POLE Bicycles

These different opinions make it clear that the offset should be chosen individually depending on the bike and rider and that it makes sense to deal with this topic and find an individual solution for yourself.

I have installed the Virtual Pivot headset and thereby shortened my offset from 54 mm to 50 mm. Suddenly I had noticeably more grip on the front wheel. In addition, the front became less nervous. It shows once again that millimeters mean worlds.

David Rüst, Founder and Owner of MTB-Raceshop.ch

CURRENT FORKS AND THEIR OFFSETS

Manufacturer, Modelwheel sizetraveloffset
Formula Selva27.5″160 mm46 mm
Formula Selva29″160 mm43, 46 or 51 mm
Fox 3827.5″180 mm37 mm or 44 mm
Fox 3829″160 mm44 mm or 51 mm
Fox 3627.5″160 mm37 mm or 44 mm
Fox 3629″150 and 160 mm44 mm or 51 mm
Rock Shox Lyrik27.5″150, 160, 170, 180 mm37 mm or 46 mm
Rock Shox Lyrik29″150, 160, 170, 180 mm42 mm or 51 mm
Rock Shox ZEB27.5″160, 170, 180, 190 mm38 or 44 mm
Rock Shox ZEB29″160, 170, 180, 190 mm44 mm

(as of 08/2021)

The table shows that the variance of the offsets of a fork model is between 6 and 9 mm. With the Virtual Pivot Headset the offset can be increased or decreased by another 4 mm.

Virtual Pivot Headset


Virtual Pivot Headset – Veränderung des Gabel-Offsets durch virtuellen Drehpunkt des Steuersatzes

Virtual Pivot Headset

Mit dem Virtual Pivot Headset bietet Reichmann Engineering weltweit erstmals die Möglichkeit, den Offset der Federgabel auszugleichen und damit den Nachlauf zu verändern. Der effektive Offset der Gabel kann um 4 mm reduziert oder vergrößert werden.

Ganz nebenbei optimiert der VP Headset zusätzlich die Aufgaben eines konventionellen Steuersatzes. Durch die zusätzliche Klemmung des Gabelschafts wird die Steifigkeit des Lenkbereichs drastisch erhöht.

Virtual Pivot – Whaaat?

Der Begriff Virtual Pivot beschreibt einen imaginären Drehpunkt. Bei unserem Steuersatz befindet sich der Drehpunkt vor oder hinter der Gabelschaftachse. Der dadurch erreichte Versatz zwischen Lenkachse und Gabelschaftachse erzeugt die Veränderung des Gabel-Offsets.

Wer profitiert von der Verwendung des Virtual Pivot Headsets?

Jeder, der sich mit dem Thema Offset und Nachlauf beschäftigt, profitiert vom Virtual Pivot Headset. Nun ist es möglich den Offset einer nicht perfekt zum Rahmen passenden Gabel zu ändern oder aber den Offset nach seinen eigenen Vorlieben zu verändern.

FORK OFFSET – Was ist das genau und welche Auswirkungen hat dieser Offset auf den Nachlauf und das Fahrverhalten?

Jede Federgabel besitzt einen individuellen Offset. 27,5″ Federgabeln besitzen einen Offset von etwa 37 bis 46 mm, 29er Federgabel etwa 42 bis 51 mm. Je nach persönlichen Vorlieben, Lenkwinkel und Reach des Fahrrads sollte eine Federgabel mit einem passenden Offset verbaut werden.


Funktionen und Zusammenhänge im Detail

Die Veränderung des Offsets, die mit Hilfe des Virtual Pivot Headsets erreicht werden kann, beträgt +/- 4 mm. Der Nachlauf nimmt proportional zum Offset zu oder ab.

Eine Veränderung des Nachlaufs beeinflusst das Lenk- und Fahrverhalten des Fahrrads stark. Fahrräder mit einem großen Nachlauf laufen sehr stabil geradeaus, die Lenkung wird aber träger und das Fahrrad weniger agil. Fahrräder mit einem geringen Nachlauf reagieren feinfühliger auf Lenkeinflüsse, wirken aber bei hohen Geschwindigkeiten nervöser. Bei flacher werdendem Lenkwinkel nimmt der Nachlauf stark zu, weshalb hier über einen größeren Gabeloffset gegengesteuert werden kann.

All diese Parameter sind stark vom verwendeten Fahrrad als auch von den Vorlieben des Fahrers abhängig. Wer gern ballert (wozu wir uns zählen) könnte einen kürzeren Offset und damit höheren Nachlauf bevorzugen. Zusätzlich bringt ein kurzer Offset das Vorderrad näher an den Fahrer. Dies hat den Effekt, dass mehr Druck auf dem Vorderrad erzeugt werden kann. Transition Bikes hat dieser Theorie den Namen “Speed Balance Geometry”, kurz “SBG” gegeben und viel Arbeit in die Ausarbeitung von perfekt ausbalancierten Bikes gesteckt: https://www.transitionbikes.com/SBG.cfm.

Der kürzere Offset bringt die Vorderachse weiter nach hinten und unter den Fahrer, was die Traktion des Vorderrads erhöht. Zusammen mit einem kurzen Vorbau sorgt dies für einen direkteren Lenkeingriff und verbessert die Verbindung zum Geschehen am Vorderrad dramatisch.

Transition Bikes

Nachdem Transition Bikes diese Technik vermarktet hat und die Nutzer den Vorteil eines veränderten Offsets erkannt haben, sind viele Federgabelhersteller auf diesen Zug aufgesprungen und haben Gabeln mit verschiedenen Offsets angeboten. Die Verwirrung und Unsicherheit bei den Nutzern ist aber nach wie vor vorhanden, da viele Variablen diese Lenkgeometrie beeinflussen und die zugrunde liegende Physik nicht auf Anhieb zu erfassen ist. Vorteile für den einen Nutzer können Nachteile für einen anderen Nutzer bedeuten.

Bei sehr flachen Lenkwinkeln (<64°) wird der Lenkwinkel selbst und der dadurch erzeugte große Nachlauf zur maßgebenden Variable in der Beeinflussung des Lenkverhaltens. Leo Kokkonen von Pole Bikes beschreibt den Einfluss des Nachlaufs für das Pole Stamina wie folgt:

The head angle of the bike is more of a driving feature of stability when it comes to the Stamina frame. The Stamina already has enough trail at high speeds but this changes at slower speeds. As the Stamina has a 63.5° head angle the offset of the forks is fine-tuning. The increasing trail gives more stability on slow speeds because a longer offset reduces wheel flop. Therefore the longer offset is more stable overall.

Leo Kokkonen, CEO und Entwickler POLE Bicycles

Diese unterschiedlichen Meinungen machen deutlich, dass der Offset je nach Bike und Fahrer individuell gewählt werden sollte und es durchaus Sinn macht, sich mit diesem Thema zu befassen und für sich selbst eine individuelle Lösung zu finden.

Ich habe mir den Virtual Pivot Steuersatz eingebaut und dadurch mein Offset von 54 mm auf 50 mm verkürzt. Plötzlich hatte ich merklich mehr Grip am Vorderrad. Zusätzlich wurde die Front weniger nervös. Es zeigt sich mal wieder das Millimeter Welten bedeuten.

David Rüst, Gründer und Inhaber von MTB-Raceshop.ch

Technische Daten

Material: Aluminium 6061-T6

Kugellager: Enduro Bearings

Schraubenmaterial: Titan Grade 5


AKTUELLE FEDERGABELN UND DEREN OFFSETS

Hersteller, ModellLaufradgrößeFederwegOffset
Formula Selva27,5 “160 mm46 mm
Formula Selva29″160 mm43, 46 oder 51 mm
Fox 3827,5″180 mm37 mm oder 44 mm
Fox 3829″160 mm44 mm oder 51 mm
Fox 3627,5″160 mm37 mm oder 44 mm
Fox 3629″150 und 160 mm44 mm oder 51 mm
Rock Shox Lyrik27,5″150, 160, 170, 180 mm37 mm oder 46 mm
Rock Shox Lyrik29″150, 160, 170, 180 mm42 mm oder 51 mm
Rock Shox ZEB27,5″160, 170, 180, 190 mm38 oder 44 mm
Rock Shox ZEB29″160, 170, 180, 190 mm44 mm

(stand 08/2021)

Die Tabelle zeigt, dass die Varianz der Offsets eines Gabelmodells zwischen 6 und 9 mm liegt. Mit dem Virtual Pivot Headset kann der Offset um weitere 4 mm vergrößert oder verkleinert werden.


MONTAGE